Skip to content

Garlicky Linguica + Peas Pasta

October 9, 2009

IMG_3661

Sometimes I stare into the abyss of my fridge, freezer and pantry and think “what on earth can I make for dinner tonight?” You guys & gals do this too sometimes, right? (If you don’t please just smile and nod). Sometimes it takes a few trips back and forth, mentally attempting to piece together ingredients. Nope. Nope. Nope. And then I hit the “A-ha!” moment. Now, not all of my a-ha moments turn out fabulous. I somewhat burned some experimental fried chicken the other night. Oops. I blame the kids for distracting me. But sometimes they turn out ok.

Recently I was searching through our freezer and found some leftover linguica I had frozen from the most recent time we made paella. Now linguica tends to come in packages of 2, and for most dishes, unless you are cooking for a huge crowd,  you really only need to use one. Linguica is a Portuguese sweet pork sausage that is perfect for pizzas and pastas. I simply combined it with other staples in our house: garlic, pasta, peas, olive oil, canned tomatoes, dried spices.

It’s a super simple pasta dish that even my picky 5-year-old loved so much that he had THREE helpings…and then he asked for some to be placed in his lunchbox for the following day. It may not be suitable for the fanciest of appetites, but if it pleases the adults AND the kids in the house, it’s a winner in my book!

**as with all of my recipes, go with your gut and put as much or as little as you feel would work best for your palate. I don’t usually measure when I cook; I eyeball, taste and add as needed.**

Ingredients

1/2 pound of rotini or other medium-shaped pasta
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1 clove minced garlic
1 linguica sausage (about 1/4 pound), sliced into about 1/2 inch thick slices
1 14 – 16 oz can of diced tomatoes, undrained
3/4 cup frozen or fresh peas
1 tablespoon fresh chopped basil or 1/2 tablespoon of dried basil
1 tablespoon of fresh chopped parsley or 1/2 tablespoon of dried parsley
salt & pepper to taste
Grated parmesan cheese (optional)

steps

1. Boil water and cook pasta.

2. Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add garlic and saute until slightly soft, about 1 – 2 minutes

3. Add linguica. Saute for about 3 – 4 minutes.

4. Add tomatoes. Mix all ingredients well as you continue to saute for about 4 more minutes until tomatoes are heated. Turn heat down to medium-low and simmer until pasta is cooked.

5.  Drain pasta once cooked and add to the pan that has the garlic/linguica mixture.

6. Stir in frozen or fresh peas. Leave on simmer for about 2 – 3 more minutes, stirring until ingredients are well blended and peas are cooked.

7. Add parsley. Add salt & pepper to taste. Serve topped with parmesan cheese (I like parmesan reggiano).

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. manuella permalink
    January 12, 2010 10:29 pm

    We did that last night, big hit with my kids! Couldn’t find linguica at Trader Joe’s but the chicken sausage I got worked good as well! Thanks Marlynn for your great ideas and your love for food!!!!!

Leave a Reply

